WEST TEXAS HISTORICAL ASSOCIATION Weatherford, Texas May 5, 1956

(Auditorium, Weatherford College)

Fresiding for morning session, John N. Cravens, Wichita Falls

	Trouble for morning books and the order of the form of the first transfer of the first t
9:45	Welcome Fred R. Cotten, Weatherford
9:50	Response President of the Association, James T. Padgitt, Leaday
9:55	"A Hundred Years of Growth in Comanche County", Bill B. Lightfoot, Austin
10:15	"Weatherford and Parker County of the 1880's and 90's", Charles S. Potts, Dallas
10:40	"Unionist Sentiment of the West Texas Frontier, 1860-1865", Floyd F. Ewing, Wichita Falls
11:00	"Mackenzie and the Indian Uprising of 1874", Mrs. O. W. Tooker, Abernathy
11:20	"Royston C. Crane: A Tribute", Marvin Burgess, Abilene
11:35	Adjourn morning session
11:45	MEETING OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF THE ASSOCIATION Place to be announced
12:00	NOON
	Luncheon Fellowship Hall, First Methodist Church Plates: \$1.00
	(a) Business meeting of Association, President Padgitt in charge
	(b) Presentation of the guest of honor Fred R. Cotten
	"The Special Character of the West", Walter Prescott Webb, Distinguished Professor of History, University of Texas
	Presiding for afternoon session, W. C. Holden, Lubbook
1:30	"Practicing Medicine in the Weatherford Country", W. M. Campbell, M. D., Weatherford
1:55	"The Menger Hotel, San Antonio's Civic and Social Center", Mrs. John R. Dalton, San Antonio
2:15	"The Fort Concho Military Telegraph", Mrs. Mary Sutton, San Angelo
	Adjourn
New memberships are welcomed. Dues are \$4.00 yearly, which includes the	

YEARBOCK, published late each fall.

Present members are invited to pay 1956 dues today, or to mail them to the Association address: Box 152, Hardin-Simmons University Station, Abilene.)