THE WEST TEXAS HISTORICAL ASSOCIATION (Thirty-fourth Annual Meeting) Midwestern University, Wichita Falls, Texas May 4, 1957

(Main Auditorium, Administration Building)

Presiding for the Morning Session, Ben O. Grant, Albany

9:45	Welcome	Floyd F. Ewing, Jr.
		Wichita Falls
9:50	Response	James T. Padgitt, President
		of the Association, San Antonio
9:55	Walter Cline, City Builder	Miss Louise Kelly, Wichita Falls
10:15	A Texas Martyr and his Successors:	Father Juan Padilla and his Missionary
		Companions, Claude A. Beesly, Wichita Falls
10:40	Stagecoach Centennial: the Butterfield Overland Mail, J. W. Williams, Wichita Falls	
11.05	The Development of Grade Couchage	T. Den Weinler Chillienthe
11:05	The Development of Grain Sorghums,	J. Roy Wuinby, Chillicothe
11:30	Adjourn Morning Session	
11.50	Adjourn morning session	
11:45	Meeting of the Executive Committee of the Association (Place to be announced)	
12:15		
140		

LUNCHEON

Student Center. Plates \$1.50

(a) Business Meeting of the Association, President Padgitt, presiding

(b) The Introduction of Guests

Ÿ,

Address: Lewis Nordyke, Amarillo

Presiding for the Afternoon Session, Ernest Wallace, Lubbock

1:30 Life on the West Texas Indian Reservations, Kenneth Neighbours, Wichita Falls
1:55 The Bar-S Ranch, Mrs. Grace M. Connally, San Angelo
2:15 Texas Veterans and Land, Thomas L. Miller, College Station
2:40 Fort Davis on the Clear Fork of the Brazos, Mrs. Jo Ann Farmer, Albany

New members are welcomed. Dues are \$4.00 yearly, which includes the Year Book, published late each fall.

Present members are invited to pay 1957 dues today, or to mail them to the Association address: Box 152, Hardin-Simmons University, Station, Abilene.

AFFAIRS OF THE ASSOCIATION The 1957 Annual Meeting Ernest Wallace

The thirty-fourth annual meeting of the West Texas Historical Association was held on May 4, 1957, on the campus of Midwestern University, Wichita Falls, Texas. The host city sponsored the meeting this year as a part of its Diamond Jubilee Celebration. Wichita County was formally organized in 1882. A town lot sale coinciding with the arrival of the first train was held on September 27 that year, officially inaugurating the birth of the city. The morning session, beginning at 9:45, was held in the beautiful college auditorium with Mr. Ben O. Grant of Albany presiding. Dr. Travis White, President of Midwestern University, extended greetings to the organization. Association President James T. Padgitt of San Antonio made the response.

The first paper appropriately dealt with the history of Wichita Falls; all were unusually good. The principal address was given at the luncheon session by Mr. Lewis Nordyke, journalist and author, who for many years has been writing about West Texas. Mr. Nordyke touched upon a multiplicity of topics ranging from humorous incidents to a brief interpretative analysis of factors contributing to the great number of criminals in the West following the Civil War. The central theme of his delightful presentation was the character of early West Texans. The following papers were presented during the day:

Walter Cline, City Builder . . . Louise Kelly, Wichita Falls

Father Juan Padilla, a Texas Martyr, and His Missionary Companions and Successors . . . Claude A. Beesly, Wichita Falls Stagecoach Centennial: The Butterfield Overland Mail . . . J. W. Williams, Wichita Falls The Development of Grain Sorghums . . . J. Roy Quinby, Chillicothe Address: This and That in West Texas . . . Lewis Nordyke, Amarillo Life on the West Texas Indian Reservations . . . Kenneth Neighbors, Wichita Falls The Bar-S Rench . . Grace M. Connally, San Angelo Texas Veterans and Land . . Thomas L. Miller, College Station Fort Davis and the Clear Fork on the Brazos . . . Jo Ann Farmer, Albany Presiding for the Noon Session . . . James T. Padgitt, San Antonio

Presiding for the Afternoon Session . . . Ernest Wallace, Lubbock

At the annual business meeting during the noon session the following were elected officers of the Association for the ensuing year:

President:	Floyd F. Ewing, Wichita Falls
Vice-Presidents:	W. E. Brown, Abilene
	Fred R. Cotten, Weatherford
	Kenneth Neighbors, Wichita Falls
	Ernest Lee, Wichita Falls
Secretary-Treasurer:	Mrs, Joseph Grba, Abilene
Publication Committee:	R. N. Richardson, Abilene
	Ernest Wallace, Lubbock
	Robert C. Cotner, Austin
Executive Committee:	John N. Cravens, Wichita Falls
	Escal F. Duke, Abilene
	Ben O. Grant, Albany

Bryan Lovelace, Wichita Falls Edward McMillan, Plainview C. R. Simmons, Sweetwater J. W. Williams, Wichita Falls James T. Padgitt, San Antonio W. C. Holden, Lubbock

和国家派出法律

To Dean Floyd F. Ewing, Jr., of Midwestern University belongs much of the credit for making the local arrangements for a pleasant meeting.

新闻的 新闻和新