West Lexas Hest. Assoc.

WEST TEXAS HISTORICAL ASSOCIATION

45th Annual Meeting
Abilene, Texas, May 10, 11, 1968
Hardin-Simmons University Student Center and Ellis Theater

Friday, May 10

6:00 p. m., Social Hour, Hardin-Simmons University History Faculty host -- TV Lounge, 2nd floor

7:00 p. m., Dinner......plates \$1.75 Room 208, Student Center

Fred Cotten, Presiding

MusicMembers of the Fandangle Troupe AddressThe Fort Griffin Fandangle and History..Robert Nail

Saturday, May 11

9:00 a. m., Registration Ellis Theater (East entrance of Behrens Chapel)

9:30 a. m., Morning Session Ellis Theater

Escal F. Duke presiding

NOON Luncheon,Plates \$1.75 ...208, Student Center

Business Session, President John Berry presiding

1:30 p. m., Afternoon Session Ellis Theater

Kenneth Neighbours presiding

Beginnings of the Big Bend Park Robert M. Wagstaff

Adjournment

New memberships are invited. Mrs. Grba, secretary-treasurer, will be glad to take your application. Current dues (\$6.00) may also be paid during the day.

AFFAIRS OF THE ASSOCIATION THE 1968 ANNUAL MEETING

The forty-fifth annual meeting of the West Texas Historical Association was held on May 10-11, 1968, in Abilene. Hardin-Simmons University, serving as the host for the occasion, got the occasion off to a start with a pleasant social hour. Afterwards, the 125 persons who attended the dinner meeting, presided over by former President Fred Cotten of Weatherford, enjoyed a delightful presentation of an abridged version of the famous historical "Fort Griffin Fandangle" by six members of the cast from Albany. The major historical episodes of the Fort Griffin country were told in song with the explanatory narration by Mr. Robert Nail, the originator of the Fandangle. From the applause given the cast and later comments, it appears that almost everyone who has not already seen the Fandangle intends to do so at the first opportunity.

The Saturday morning and afternoon sessions were held in the Ellis Theater. Dr. Escal Duke of Angelo State College presided over the morning session, attended by some seventy persons, and Dr. Kenneth Neighbours of Midwestern University presided over the afternoon session at which fifty-five persons were in attendance. All papers, four at the morning session and four at the afternoon session, were well researched and interestingly presented.

At the luncheon session, presided over by Dr. Escal Duke

in the absence of President John Berry who was ill, the seventy members present approved the slate of officers for the forthcoming year as recommended by the nominating committee and as shown at the front of this volume of the <u>Year Book</u>; the report of the Secretary-Treasurer, Mrs. Madge M. Grba, as shown hereafter, was read and unanimously adopted; and Dr. R. N. Richardson made a brief report on affairs of the Association.

In addition to the business session and the "Fort Griffin Fandangle" program, the following papers were presented

"Zachariah Combs, the Samuel Pepys of the Texas
Frontier"... Mrs. Barbara Ledbetter,
Young County

"Beginnings of the Big Bend Park"...
Robert M. Wagstaff,
Abilene

"George Wyeth Baylor and West Texas, 1848-1965"...

Kenneth A. Goldblatt,
University of Texas at El Paso

"Arthur P. Duggan and Littlefield Lands Colonization in Lamb County, 1912-1920"...

David B. Gracy, II,
Texas Technological College

"The Origins of the Helium Industry"...

Herbert H. Lang,

Texas A & M University

"Cyclone Davis, Texas Populist"...
Chapin Ross,
Abilene Christian College

"Some Historic Texas Tourist Trails"...
Truett Latimer,
Historical Survey Committee

"William Whipple Johnson and the Origin of the Thurber Coal Mines"... Robert W. Spoede, Hardin-Simmons University

West De pas Hist. Association

OFFICERS FOR 1967-1968 WEST TEXAS HISTORICAL ASSOCIATION

President John Berry, Clyde

Vice Presidents
Escal F. Duke, San Angelo
Kenneth Neighbours, Wichita Falls
Miss Vernie Newman, Abilene
Robert E. Steakley, Odessa

Secretary-Treasurer
Mrs. Joseph Grba, Abilene

Rupert N. Richardson, Hardin-Simmons University
Editor-in-Chief

Ernest Wallace, Texas Technological College History in West Texas, History

Robert C. Cotner, University of Texas Editor, Book Reviews

Executive Committee
W. Earl Brown, Abilene
Fred Cotten, Weatherford
John N. Cravens, Wichita Falls
James M. Day, Austin
Mrs. T. E. Dodge, Albany
Floyd F. Ewing, College Station
W. C. Holden, Lubbock
R. Ernest Lee, Wichita Falls
James T. Padgett, San Antonio
J. W. Williams, Wichita Falls