WEST TEXAS HISTORICAL ASSOCIATION Abilene, Texas

Forty-Eighth Annual Meeting April 2, 3, 1971

Angelo State University San Angelo, Texas

Friday, April 2

6:00 p.m.

Coffee and Social Hour University Food Center

7:00 p.m.

Dinner: \$2.50 per plate

University Food Center

President Escal F. Duke, presiding

Invocation

Mr. Frank Junell

Welcome to the Campus Dr. L. D.

President, Angelo State University

Introduction of Speaker Dr. Billy Mac Jones

President, Southwest Texas
State University

The Lyndon B. Johnson Oral History Project

Dr. Joe B. Frantz

Between Library & Science

Saturday, April 3 Academic Building, Room 004

9:00 a.m. Registration by the Phi Alpha Theta Chapter

Morning Program

Mr. Fred Cotten Presiding

Stagecoach Mail in Trans-Pecos Texas 9:30 a.m. in the 1850s Jack C. Scannell

9:55 a.m. Cottonwood Spring in Young County Kenneth Neighbours

10:20 a.m. C. C. Slaughter and His Lazy S Ranch in Cochran County David C. Murrah

COFFEE BREAK 10:45 a.m.

11:35 a.m.

1:45 p.m.

11:10 a.m. Relief for Drought-stricken Ranchers: The Emergency Cattle Purchase Program, 1934-1935 Irvin M. May A 4/11

Second Lieutenant Henry O. Flipper: A Negro Officer on the West Texas Frontier Donald R. McClung

12:30 to 1:30 LUNCHEON AND BUSINESS SESSION

President Duke presiding for business meeting University Food Center

Afternoon Program

Academic Building Room 004

Dr. W. Earl Brown Presiding

Gerome W. Shield: A Tom Green County Sheriff Thomas R. Havins

Treaties Between Communities 2:10 p.m. and Southwest Indians

Ralph A. Smith 2:35 p.m. The Fort Concho Papers:

Historical Authenticity versus Dramatic Effectiveness Raymond E. Carver

ADJOURNMENT hairman Jane arts Defte augelo State CC.

Mero

The West Texas Historical Association, organized in April, 1924, published its first YEAR BOOK in June, 1925. Volume 46, for 1970, has just been distributed to more than 300 individual and library members.

The Association extends an invitation to membership to those of you interested in this type of activity. Membership is currently \$6.00 annually, which includes a copy of the YEAR BOOK. All earlier volumes are available at the current membership fee of \$6.00 per copy.

For other information concerning membership or YEAR BOOKS, write Mrs. Joseph Grba, Secretary-Treasurer, at Box 152, H-SU Station, Abilene, Texas, 79601.

Concerning contributions of articles for publication, write Rupert N. Richardson, at the same address.