Paul H. Carlson Best Student Essay Award

The Paul H. Carlson Best Student Essay Award eligibility requires that the essay, ranging from 10 to 14 pages in length, be written by a student enrolled in a college or university and be sponsored by a faculty member of that institution.  A cover letter from the sponsoring faculty member and a one-page abstract of the paper must accompany the submitted manuscript.

The winner of the award will receive $250.00 plus a $50 grant to offset travel to the annual WTHA conference to receive the award at the Saturday luncheon.

The essay will be included on the program of the annual meeting of the Association and will be published in its annual publication, The West Texas Historical Review (formerly The Yearbook prior to 2012.)

The award is named after Paul H. Carlson, a former professor of history at Texas Tech University and a well published author in the field of West Texas history. Besides being a long-time member of WTHA and one of the organization's Life Directors, Dr. Carlson is also a member of the Texas Institute of Letters.

Student Essay Award
c/o Executive Director,
WTHA/Southwest Collection
Box 41041
Texas Tech University
Lubbock, Texas 79409

STYLE.  The Chicago Manual of Style, 13th Edition, is the style sheet.  End notes should also be used and double spaced.  Because the West Texas Historical Review is computer generated, the manuscript must be submitted in Word Document format (.doc or .docx file type).

CRITERIA.  Criteria for Judging are the following: 1) readability and style of the presentation; 2) use of research materials; 3) overall conception; and 4) contribution to the history of West Texas.

Award and grant applications are due on January 10. Award winners will be announced at the annual meeting of the Association during the presidential luncheon.

West Texas Historical Association Outstanding Student Essay Award Winners

Monte Monroe and John McCullough,

2006  awardee.

Ashley Armes, 2004 awardee.

David Holt, 2003 awardee.

2016 - Briana Weaver, Sam Houston State University

2013 - Joshua Logsdon, Angelo State University
2012 - Anthony Smith, Tarleton State University
2011 - Stuart Williams, Texas Tech University
2010 - Travis Taylor, Angelo State University
2009 - Thomas Leman Saunders, McMurry University
2008 - Ruth Ann Shirley, McMurry University
2007 - Tracy Stewart, West Texas A&M University
2006 - John McCullough, Texas Tech University
2005 - Nicholas Pruitt, Wayland Baptist University

2004 - Ashley Armes, Texas Tech University
2003 - David Holt, West Texas A&M University
2002 - Alexander Soto Cano, Angelo State University
2001 - Dana Magill, Texas Tech University
2000 - Scott Sosebee, Texas Tech University
1999 - Gary Lindsey, Texas Tech University
1998 - Ed Tinney, Angelo State University
1997 - no award given
1996 - Carolyn Griffith, Hardin-Simmons University
1995 - Christie R. Wyse, Texas Tech University


2805 15th Street | Texas Tech University | Lubbock, Texas 79409-1041

Phone: 806-742-9076 | Email:

© West Texas Historical Association

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software